R. Kelly Goes "Skin" Deep On New Joint [Video], See What's Inside Ashanti's "Vault," Plus, Soulful Mix


R. Kelly may not be the cleanest cut singer in the business but he's no dummy. Chicago's self-proclaimed "King of R&B" knows how to strike while the iron is hot, and with his BET interview fresh on everybody's minds Kells recently premiered a new video for his song "Skin."

R.Kelly "Skin"

It's not bad, but for somebody so disgruntled about being perceived as a sex machine, he might have tried going the Jesus route instead.

My advice for Rob? Time to reinvent yourself bruh... I'm sure some of you will disagree with me though.


I'm sure Ashanti is just thrilled to pieces that her pre Murder Inc music is about to hit the streets. The Vault, an album of 12 previously unreleased songs from the Grammy Award-winning, platinum-selling singer will hit shelves October 14th by AJM Records.

The Vault unearths songs penned by Ashanti in 2001 while signed to AJM Records prior to Shanti's AJM's joint venture with Murder Inc/Def Jam in 2002. I would love to talk to Ashanti about this album because something tells me (hmmm maybe it's the press release with no quote from the artist) she's less than eager for these songs to literally fall out the vault.

In the meantime, no need to wait until October 14th to hear the music. The first single, produced by 15-year-old producer Miguel "Migs" Baeza "Let's Do Something Crazy" which features Flo-Rida is currently available online here.

The second single, "Imagine," produced by AJM in-house producer Kidd Kold (what a name!) is also available online here.

Please enjoy this Friday's Soulful mix courtesy of Rock Steady Crew DJ DV One. Have a great weekend!

DV One Soulful Mix 3 Tracklist

  1. Anthony Hamilton - "I'm cool"
  2. Cool Kids - "Mikey Rocks"
  3. MFSB - "Something For Nothing"
  4. Toots & the Maytals - "54-46 Was My Number"
  5. Betty Wright - "Girls Can't Do What Guys Do"
  6. The Meters - "Just Kissed My Baby"
  7. Ramp - "Daylight"
  8. Roy Ayers - "Searching"
  9. Honey Cone - "Innocent Until Proven Guilty"
  10. Jake One feat Freeway - "The Truth"
  11. Erykah Badu - "Honey"
  12. Brand Nubian - "The Return"
  13. David Porter - "The Masquerade Is Over"
  14. Foster Sylvers - "Misdemeanor"
  15. Illa J - "We Here"
  16. Johnny Hammond - "Rock Steady"
  17. Large Professor - "Party Time"

Download Here

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by SOHH Soul Rebel published on September 19, 2008 11:32 AM.

Janet Dominates On Tour, Raphael Gives A Free Show, Motown Loses A Legend, New Music From Musiq and Mary was the previous entry in this blog.

EXCULSIVE Q&A: Joe Thomas Speaks On Name Change And Issue W/ R. Kelly is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.